Supporting, developing and honoring women leaders.  Inspiring women to achieve their full potential. Creating balance in leadership in our community.

The Greater Owensboro Chamber of Commerce and Girls Incorporated will again be presenting the prestigious ATHENA Award to an individual in our community.  This award is presented to someone who has attained and personified the highest level of professional excellence in their business or profession; has devoted time and energy to the community in a meaningful way; and most especially, has generously assisted women in attaining their full potential.  Each ATHENA recipient is invited to join other recipients throughout the United States and beyond to create new leadership programs and bring ideas back home.

The ATHENA recipient will be selected from nominations and supporting documentation. We need your help in identifying personal recipients. Within your organization there are undoubtedly some individuals who are outstanding professional and community leaders who have had a positive impact on women.  Or you may know of someone through your personal or professional contacts.  We urge you to use this nomination form to let us know who they are.

Through this program, we hope to build awareness of and honor the valuable contributions being made by men and women in our community.  Past recipients include: Lamone Mayfield, Jean Wells, Brenda Clayton, Debbie Nunley, Helen Sears, Jane Noble, Martha Clark, Marianne Smith Edge, Jacqueline Addington, Vicki Stogsdill, Ursuline Sisters, Virginia Braswell, Patti Rayburn, Cherri Lolley, Helen Mountjoy, Margaret Britton, Deborah Fillman, Aloma Dew, Kathryn Raymer, Cindy Fiorella, Susan Montalvo-Gesser, Alma Randolph, Sara Hemingway, Karla Ward, and Marcia Carpenter.

Please fill out the form below to nominate someone for the 2024 Athena Award. Or you may download a pdf of the form here.